The badgers referenced in Guardian of Giria are European badgers (Meles meles).

  1. Adult males are called boars, adult females are called sows and juveniles are cubs.
  2. Badgers are nocturnal, sleeping during the day in underground burrows known as setts. These can be very large, with several underground chambers and connecting passageways, and can be shared by a number of badger families. Groups can have a number of setts across their territory. Badgers sometimes share their setts with other animals, such as rabbits or foxes.
  3. Badgers mostly eat earthworms, but also eat other insects, small mammals and a variety of plants.
  4. Badgers groom each other’s fur with their claws and teeth.
  5. Badgers typically mate for life. Cubs are born between January and March. There can be up to 5 cubs in a litter.

For more information, see here.

European Badger |

European Badger |

Previous: Waxwings

Next: Roe Deer

Question or comment? I'd love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.